After worship service today the family and I went to the grocery store to pick up a few things. Today was a uncharecteristically pleasant experience in the store. If you have children (which is plural for child by the way) you will understand how uncommon it is to have a pleasant experience in the groceries store. While at the check-out counter Bryanna (6) stood up in the basket, held her arms to the side with her chest sticking out and head drawn back and belted out; “THANK YOU JESUS, I LOVE YOU!!!”, sat back down, and went about her business. This caught me off guard, and as I went to quiet her down I realized what she had said and took a look around.

I noticed that no one bothered to look up or take notice that this child yelled something out. Had I stood up in a basket and belted these same words out everyone would have turned their attention to me and I probably would have been asked to either leave, or quiet down.  As I thought about this on the way home a startling reality hit me.

When a child speaks, adults just do not listen. It is as children have nothing to contribute and we have “turned a deaf ear” to them, unwilling to listen to anything or take serious what they have to say. Is it possible that we miss a lot of what God has to say to us due to our unwillingness to listen to children? Does Jesus not tell us that we are to make ourselves as children in order to hear and understand what He has to say to us? If we are to do this, then what is stopping God from using children to speak to us?

Jesus tells us to “proclaim from the roof tops”, and this is pretty much what Bryanna did. Maybe, just maybe, we can learn something from children after all. My challenge to you is this: Don’t miss out on what god is saying to you because He is using a child. Listen, pay attention, learn, and stop hushing our children, because in doing so we are training them to keep quiet and to in the future keep the words of the Lord quiet in their own children.

Will you take the chance and miss what God has to say through a child? Don’t believe me? Why not test it? For one month just listen to children when they speak, you may be surprised!

” 2 He called a little child to him, and placed the child among them. 3 And he said: “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. 4 Therefore, whoever takes the lowly position of this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven. 5 And whoever welcomes one such child in my name welcomes me.” Matthew 18:2-5

