Day: 0; 253 Days left

It has been said that “a journey of a thousand miles starts with a

single step.” I understand this statement, but I have come to a couple of conclusions about the person who originated it. 1) He either watered it down for the effect of the saying, 2) or he obviously never began a journey on mission for God. As wonderful of a quote this is, I think it misses some truth. It has been my experience that when on journey for God the beginning and all throughout

are filled with obstacles that are put in place to distract you, or cause you to tur

n back. 

I get my example from Paul and his journeys. Here is the list of obstacles he gives in 1 Corinthians 11: 23- 29:

23 Are they servants of Christ? (I am out of my mind to talk like this.) I am more. I have worked much harder, been in prison more frequently, been flogged more severely, and been exposed to death again and again. 24 Five times I received from the Jews the forty lashes minus one. 25 Three times I was beaten with rods, once I was pelted with stones, three times I was shipwrecked, I spent a night and a day in the open sea, 26 I have been constantly on the move. I have been in danger from rivers, in danger from bandits, in danger from my fellow Jews, in danger from Gentiles; in danger in the city, in danger in the country, in danger at sea; and in danger from false believers. 27 I have labored and toiled and have often gone without sleep; I have known hunger and thirst and have often gone without food; I have been cold and naked. 28 Besides everything else, I face daily the pressure of my concern for all the churches. 29 Who is weak, and I do not feel weak? Who is led into sin, and I do not inwardly burn?

Today, my good knee became my bad knee. While at work I sprained my knee to the point that I dragged myself off of the floor. I was spotting a girl on a back handspring and fell to the ground in agony before she could go. I had to catch her with my other leg as I lay on the ground and slowly bring her to the floor to keep her from hurting herself. This even in itself is a gift of grace from God, never could I do that again if I tried. I am almost positive that I tore something inside, maybe cartilage, perhaps a ligament, but after a few minutes of rolling around on the ground in pain, I was able to stand up and walk on my own. This makes me think that whatever it is, it is a minor tear.

In a fit of doubt and anger I began to think about this commitment I made, and how every time I try to do something like this disaster strikes. While riding in the passenger seat of our van on the way home from practice, my lovely wife reminds me that this is a minor set back in the grand scheme of things. Of course something like this happened, the enemy does not want me to succeed. This voice of reason was a great encouragement to me. See, no more than twenty minutes after this happened one of my girls got her back handspring by herself without a spot. As big of a deal as this is for a cheerleader, it is an even bigger deal for this girl. She recently had major spinal surgery that caused her to fear she would never be able to do it after all of her hard work. She overcame the obstacle and achieved what she thought would not be possible.

Sure, my knee hurts, my finances are making certain parts of my training difficult, but the Lord has given me a mission. I shall continue on my mission and not allow the enemy to strike. Will this be a small set back in my training? Sure, but it never stopped Paul, it did not stop my Cheerleader, and it will not stop me. He will provide the healing, and what is great is, that after my training is complete the muscles around my knee will support it better than any brace ever will. God is in charge, He knows what He is doing. For now I will move forward with training, after all, He has something to do in your life through this. You’ll see!

