When I started coaching Storm Elite All-Stars, I came into it with the desire to be the light in a dark world. The goal was to impact the lives of young people through encouragement, biblical values, and love. The greatest of all of these being love. What was my motivation? I was in love with all of the young people in Slidell and beyond. I struggled and labored, cried and prayed, worked and dreamt to impact the area, through cheerleading, for Christ. Not only the youth that were a part of the program at the time, but for the ones that I had not met that would be impacted directly by or through it. 

Somewhere along the way my motivation changed. I started looking at the possibilities, and the impact that the “better” teams had on the growth, or lack of, of our program. As a result it has, in recent hours, been made clear to me that my motivation has gone from love to greed. Even though I desire more athletes in order to impact more people, my motivation has become gaining them through my efforts and marketing instead of loving those who are there and trusting God to bring the increase.

“3 You have persevered and have endured hardships for my name, and have not grown weary.Yet I hold this against you: You have forsaken the love you had at first.Consider how far you have fallen! Repent and do the things you did at first. If you do not repent, I will come to you and remove your lamp stand from its place.”Rev. 3:-5

This scripture has weighed heavily on my heart since early this morning. I have been so focused on the “necessity” to win in order to build the program, and forgot about how much I love my cheerleaders and the importance of showing them the truth of Jesus Christ and the fact that I DO love them.

It is easy to lose focus when people are constantly coming up to you and telling you how important it is to win in order for you team to succeed. Maybe you are not a coach and this applies to you in another way. The point is, sacrificing your pure motives for ones that lead directly to personal gain will result in your influence being removed from the very people you set out to impact. God has given me His light, He has allowed me the opportunity to shine for all to see, to influence people in a way that glorifies Him. If I forget that, and start to rely on my own efforts to accomplish the other goals that should be a byproduct of focusing on His kingdom, then He will take away my influence and not allow me to continue on.

This is my confession, my sin; that I have allowed winning (greed) to take over as my motivator, and lost the love. I write this as a form of repentance, as a cry for prayer to my fellow servants of Christ on my behalf that the Lord will not take away my lamp stand and continue to bless His work in Slidell. I am admitting my fault with the understanding that it may have already been detrimental to the cause, however, from this point forward vow to focus on love and not compromise the mission. The mission is to love Slidell’s youth, and allow God to send the increase if He desires. May that be your motivations also, may you be motivated by love so that your lamp stand may shine bright and your influence be great for His kingdom.

