Tags

, , , ,

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full. John 10:10 NIV

We can all probably quote this verse of scripture. If not, we are probably pretty familiar with it. I have really never given this verse much thought, well, past knowing that Jesus has set me free from the bondage of sin and death, and that in Him we live life everlasting with Him. Over the past few days I have been thinking about this idea of a “life to the full” and what that means or looks like. I haven’t come up with any theologically profound thoughts on the idea, but this morning it hit me to what kind of God I follow and serve and what He gives me to enjoy this “full life”. 

rollercoasterThis morning while my wife took the girls to school I was watching our 18 month old son. I decided the little man needed a bath so I figured I would bathe him for my wife and maybe take that off of her list. Turned out that giving the monkey boy a bath was a blast. After the bath I carried him in his towel bundled up against my chest as if he were a little newborn, and tossed him on the cloud of fluffy blanket (not like a newborn) while he laughed out loud. After putting a diaper on his bare butt we spend the next few moments in an epic battle for his armpits. As I looked down at him laughing and waiting for the next attack of the armpits “life to the full” hit me so hard it caused a slight leak in my left eye.

At this moment I realized that I serve a God who created us with such incredible emotional stimuli that allow us enjoy the life we live. I serve a God who created a life filled with moments like my armpit stand off, or the feeling you get when your child lays his or her head down on your shoulder when you pick them up. What about the warmth of sitting next to the person you love in complete vulnerability, taking in their scent as you marinate in the ambiance of the moment? That thing that you love to do so much, God placed that passion inside of you, and on top of that the feeling of joy that you get while doing it. Lets not forget the feeling you get when your sitting with your friends laughing so hard that you can’t breath, or the excitement that comes with a new adventure.

There is this stigma that once a person becomes a follower of Jesus Christ they are no longer “allowed” to have fun. I assure you that it is quite to the contrary, but that we are set free to have more fun. He has given us passions and emotions, talents and gift so that we can not only serve Him, but enjoy doing it. We have life that is completely fulfilled in Christ so everything we do is liberated from the idea that we need it to satisfy some craving, and we are free to enjoy it from the roots of what it really is. God has redeemed us unto Himself, and in doing so redeems not only our spiritual lives but our fun in the physical also. I now have this ability in Christ that I have never had to see the joy and enjoy the moments of life that I so often have looked over. Jesus has given me life, He has given me freedom, He has given me joy. In Jesus there truly is abundance, there truly is life.

