Tags

, , ,

ImageYou could take a few minutes and scroll through my blog history and see all of the times that I have tried to change my life, to get back in shape, and to balance out the spiritual and physical world in which I live. If you were to read them, and if you have the chance to know me, it would also be clear to you how many times I have failed. Failure (in this area) has haunted me for about ten years now. I try and try to lose weight and get in shape just to fail over and over again. Why? Well, first of all it is my own laziness that stops me, but a lot of the times it has to do with my own low self esteem. The reality is, I hate looking at myself in this state. I have for the past ten to twelve years. My thought goes to, “if I hate the way I look, what does my wife think?” These are the thoughts that drive me to failure. These are the thoughts that push me backwards and cause me to just give up. These are my limits. 

Yesterday I took my first Crossfit class. If you don’t know what Crossfit is go to http://www.crossfit.com and check it out. After the class I felt something that I have not felt in a long time, I felt accomplished. The guys at Finish Strong Crossfit in Slidell, LA made the experience one that I wish everyone can have. The thing that stood out to me the most, was that they really wanted to make sure that I got all that I could out of the workout, but also that I did it in the safest way possible. The coach made sure that I focused a lot on technique before I started putting weight on the bars, and noticing the knee brace encouraged me to start at the small box and work my way up to what I could handle with my knees. The work out was hard, harder than I can even remember working out, but the coach pushed me to keep going, encouraging me the whole time. By the time I left, the coach was patting me on the back, told me I did great, and light up when I told him I had goals. His response was “well let me help you get there.” 

Next month I will turn 30 years old. Before yesterday, I was ready to give up, I was ready to stop on the side of the road and give up on running the race. Not in a scary way, but just sit down and watch everyone else run. I feel like I started this race out running strong, and for the past ten years or so started walking in the wrong direction. My race was not run well, and the finish was going to be even less climactic. I learned something yesterday. I learned that those limitations that I placed on myself, were exactly that, self made limitations. I really don’t know my limits, or even if I have any. More so, I learned that just as I am in control of limiting myself, I am in control of pushing my body beyond said limits. 

I think about Paul, how through beatings and wrecks, through walking around the known world, and through imprisonments and stoning his body had to be screaming STOP!!! He couldn’t, he had a job to do and he knew that his strength came from above. He made his body a slave and was not going to allow his “limitations” to take him out of the race. 

Yesterday I decided that I wasn’t going to allow that to happen to me either. Knee injuries, Imageoverweight, and falling apart will not stop me. My body will be my slave, my race will be run, an my God will be glorified. How can I preach the good news of the Kingdom of God and not take care of myself? How can I teach my cheerleaders, more so, my children to live a healthy life when I choose not to? How can I be a part of the movement God has planned for Slidell when I can’t even move? 

The answer is Finish Strong Crossfit in Slidell. My new friends are going to be helping me break down the walls of self destruction and help me build up the strength to run the race; they will help me finish the race, and show me how to Finish Strong. 

“24 Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one receives the prize? So run that you may obtain it. 25 Every athlete exercises self-control in all things. They do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable. 26 So I do not run aimlessly; I do not box as onebeating the air. 27 But I discipline my body and keep it under control,[a] lest after preaching to others I myself should be disqualified.” 1 Cor 9:24-27

