Tags

, , , , , ,

The CrossFit Open 2013 has begun. This week the coaches at Finish Strong CrossFit encouraged my cousin and I to join the Open. Mind you, this is my fourth week of CrossFit ever and it is coming from a week off due to a dental extraction. Sure I wanted to join, but I just didn’t feel like I was ready. I knew that I would never be able to make it games, but even to take my chances with the workouts seemed like something that I wasn’t even ready to attempt. Due to my weight and lack of training I am unable to even do some of the movements that may be required, so to save myself from discouragement I decided that I would wait until next year to join. 

The coaches continue to encourage, continue to push, and continue to convince me that it isn’t about winning all of the time, but seeing where you are at and finding your limits so that you can work to break them. The final result was not me joining, to be honest, I just didn’t have the $20 to spare. By Friday I was a little disappointed that I wasn’t going to be able take my chance at the work out. Until, I walked into the box and realized that the WOD was 13.1. 

A fear set in, and I was honestly worried. I verbally expressed my discontent with what was about to take place and everyone knew that I had reserves about it. Bottom line, I knew it was going to suck, and i was afraid that I was not only going to let myself down, but let my coach down as well. See, I am not one who accepts failure very well, and with a life that seemed to be littered with it, another failure would be hard to handle. When i noticed my coach got a little, annoyed (not so much in a bad way) it hit me that he believed in me more than I did. The same kind of annoyance that I get when I realize the potential in my cheerleaders and they refuse to admit it or even try because of their own unwarranted self doubt. 

Needless to say, I did the workout and realized a couple of things. 1) I have the ability to do far more than I imagined; even more than I have already learned in the past three weeks of CrossFit. 2) The coaches at Finish Strong CrossFit are not merely there to do a job, but have this incredible ability to see the potential in people and push them to find it in themselves. After doing the 13.1 workout and suffering an unfortunate thumb injury I finished recognizing that I could have done more. I realize even more that I have a family behind me who will help me push and be better. 

This is not just a benefit for my physical or even spiritual development, but for those in my life who are influenced by me. What the coaches at Finish Strong may not realize is that they are not only impacting the lives of those they train, but the lives of those who are being influenced by them as well. See coaching is a generational thing, and when someone is reaching into the lives of others they are reaching into the lives of the relationships beyond their knowledge. 

My only hope is that one day, I can return the favor. I can show clearly not only who Jesus is, but all that He has done. I pray that I can answer questions and have the conversation, I hope that as they are reaching into not only my life, but those who I am influencing, that they may begin to have the conversation of the real Jesus. I don’t have much to offer those great people at Finish Strong, but what I have I give freely. 

Throughout my life God has been orchestrating experiences that have built me into the person that I am, and He continues to do so in order to make me the person He wants me to be. During this season on my life, God has placed me within the Finish Strong CrossFit family. Why? I don’t know. What I do know is that the people at Finish Strong, not only the coaches but all of the people who are a part of the family, have been instrumental in God’s plan to change me into the person He needs in order to do His work. Part of that is to impact the lives of those inside the Finish Strong Family, that is interesting to me, because i don’t really know what I have to offer. This is not a problem, on the contrary, this just means that God is the one who will do whatever it is that is going to happen. That is exciting! 

