Tags

, , , ,

Sometimes as a leader of people you can find yourself in some sticky situations. Ok, let’s be honest, often times you find yourself stuck. Leadership is hard! You fight for your opportunity to get there and when you do you realize that it’s not all it’s cracked up to be. I can remember a time when I made it to the management role I wanted and asked for a demotion just because I missed being in the garage with the guys. In all of the struggles of leadership, none is more daunting than opposition from your second in command. This is the one you are supposed to be able to count on as a leader, and when this person is constantly opposed to your leadership it is a bigger problem than all others that you face as a leader. When arrogance creeps its ugly little face into the life of your second in command it is never fun. It can cause dissension, division, or even cause you to questions your leadership ability which if you ask me is far worse than any other. 

The face of the matter is that the reason the person is second in command is because they are not ready to be the leader yet. Sure they are getting there and often times are their because of their leadership abilities, but there are just some really tough lessons that need to be learned before someone can become a great leader. I believe, from personal experience, that this lesson is one of humility. I believe there is an arrogance the comes with second in command that needs to be dealt with before God allows you to take a leadership role. If you by some chance get that role before you learn that lesson, it will still be taught, only in a more difficult way. Most of the time, as a leader your second in command is that person you need to be able to rely on more than anyone. Leaders need accountability and someone to encourage them too. When the person who is supposed to be behind all of the way and encourage you in the tough times is against you, man what a bummer!

When this starts to happen it can cause arguments and a constant disagreement between the two as far as the direction of the group. As a leader who has an arrogant second in command you begin to spend more time arguing than speaking constructively about the overall good and direction of the group. This kind of relationship is never healthy. Just like a family whose parent are in constant disagreement suffers, so does any group relying on its leaders.

When dissensions aren’t rectified they often lead to divorce. No, I’m not really talking about the family, but the word works for this situations too. Coming from a broken home and experiencing the results of it serves as a good example when two leaders divide. In my situation my little brother and I went with mom and my older brother went with dad. The result was division and it was just unhealthy for all of us. When two leaders split ways a lot of times each of them have followers that go with them. See, when the second in command loses confidence in the leader because of personal prideful reasons, this spreads trough out the group because it isn’t hard to see.

I believe that a leader I should constantly be checking myself. “What are my motives for this?” More importantly, as a leader I should be seeking wisdom and direction from God. I need to be in direct contact with God, lead by the Spirit, and moving the group in the direction He takes me. If the second in command is also seeking God’s will and not their own then I believe that God’s will will be revealed to both of them. When the second in command is constantly questioning or arguing the leader’s direction it can cause the leader to questions whether or not He is hearing from God or doing his job well. This can be bad for the leader whom God has placed in that role. In times like this, it is the second in command who should come along side the leader and encourage him/her.

The hard part about this post is that it’s about me. I was that second in command. I have been that guy that the leader is counting on whose pride got in the way of the leader being able to do his job. I have been the one who caused dissensions and disagreements. The problem is that I have done it so much that I can’t even remember to whom. I can see myself, puffed up with pride, questioning the leadership and believing that I could do it better. Consider this post my apology. My prayer is that the Lord will bring the people who need to read this and see my apology to them. Paul talks about God being the one who put people in positions of authority and that for His purpose. That being the case, my defiance was not against you only, but God and for that I am sorry. I am sorry for making your job harder by having to deal with me and not what you were called to do. I am sorry for not being a partner but a divider. I commit to lay those things aside and repent of this behavior. I submit to God and His authorities.

